top of page

DIY Glitter Frame


If you are anything like me, you are in love with GLITTER. Recently I decided to re-do my bathroom and it just didn't feel complete until I took on a re-finish project. Originally, this was a black frame with one of my old photography shots in it from when I started out. I ordered one of my newer shots, bought some spray paint at Home Depot that was silver glitter and thought I would be set! After spraying, I was happy...but something was missing. There really wasn't enough glitter to fill my addiction! So, I went to JoAnn Fabrics and I came across Heidi Swapp's Marquee Love collection of chunky glitter. I purchased the silver glitter and after finishing the project am finally in love with my frame! I have listed the (simple) directions in this blog post for you. I hope you enjoy! **Please note: I am NOT crafty. This really is super simple to accomplish!**

Step One: What You Need

*Make sure you have your favorite Heidi Swapp Marquee Love glitter (JoAnn Fabrics)

*Purchase Mod Podge Gloss/Lustre (Wash Out for Kids worked just fine for me!)

*A thin paint brush (You might NOT want to buy a super cheap one like I did...you will run into the bristles falling out!)

*An OLD frame you'd like to re-finish

*Painters / Masking tape

*An old towel

*A broom and a vacuum to clean up that glitter...unless of course you don't mind it on your floor! ;)

Step Two: The Process

(Note: I put one of my TPT text evidence flyers on top to give you an idea of how you can make a cute motivational frame for your classroom, too!)

1. I started by taping off the inner edge of the frame, making sure it didn't get onto the top. I wanted to have a design for my glitter, so I taped off the diagonals at the corners. This was easy because there was a crease.

2. I painted on the Mod Podge in a semi-thick layer.

3. Sprinkled the chunky glitter like crazy. It got on my floor......quite a bit. You might want to think about that before winging it like I did. ;)

4. Next, I waited about 2 hours...although the bottle says 15-20 minutes for dry time.

5. Carefully peel off the tape.

6. Shake off the access glitter into a trash bag and transfer back into the bottle (to save it for a future project!)

7. Use the tape to clear the glass from excess glitter.

8. Hang the frame up, stand back, and smile proudly at your accomplishment! :)

I hope you enjoy this project as much as I did! Feel free to post your own version of this in the comment section. I'd LOVE to see what you come up with!

-Xo-

L.M.P

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page